Gorakhpur Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 UP

BJP candidate and Bhojpuri actor Ravi Kishan won the Gorakhpur seat on Thursday by defeating his closest rival, Samajwadi Party candidate Rambhual Nishad. Kishan defeated Nishad by a margin of 3.01,664 votes, EC said here.

Kishan got 7.17122 votes, while Nishad got 4.15,458 votes. The constituency went to the polls in the seventh phase of the Lok Sabha elections on May 19. 2019 Election Results: Ravi Kishan wins against SP Rambhual Nishad by 301664 votes. 8:16 PM IST Thursday May 23, 2019: Ravindra Shyamnarayan Shukla aka Ravi Kishan (BJP) - 717122 (60.54%), Rambhual Nishad (SP) - 415458 (35.07%), Madhusudan Tripathi (Congress) - 22972 (1.94%) 6:35 PM IST on Thursday May 23, 2019: Ravindra Shyamnarayan Shukla aka Ravi Kishan (BJP) - 714013 (60.55%), Rambhual Nishad (SP) - 415458 (35.07%)

Gorakhpur Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: State Profile

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, the BJP had won 71 seats in the state, garnering 42.63 percent of the vote. BJP's ally Apna Dal took two more. The Samajwadi Party had won five seats with a vote percentage of 22.35 percent. The BSP did not win any seats, but did win 19.77 percent of the vote. Congress recorded victories in two UP seats in 2014, garnering 7.53 percent of the vote.

UP faces a triangular battle between the BJP, Congress and the BSP-SP-RLD alliance. Under the alliance seat sharing formula, the Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is competing for 38 Lok Sabha seats out of 80 seats, the Akhilesh Yadavs Samajwadi Party on 37 seats and the Chaudhary Ajit Singhs Rashtriya Lok. Dal (RLD) in three seats. The alliance has left two for the Congress Sonia Gandhi (Rae Bareli) and Rahul Gandhi (Amethi).